College of Medicine and Health Research Day

Posted on:14 Sep 2018

Cystic Fibrosis Research Award

The conference was opened by Prof. Helen Whelton, Vice Head College of Medicine and Health. The theme for the morning session was ‘Research in Special Populations’ and the speakers included Dr. Deirdre Murray, (Baseline Study); Prof Colin Bradley, (DiGP Research Group); Dr. Maeve Rooney, (Omega 3 Trial); Dr. Sally Cudmore, (Newtricious Trial). The second session focused on studies for regulatory approval and the speakers were Prof. Noel Caplice, (RESUS AMI); Dr Declan Soden, (Electroporation); and Prof. Geraldine Boylan, (ANSeR). Prof. Anita Maguire also spoke about “Novel Opportunities for Clinician Interactions with Industry”.

There was a moderated poster session at lunchtime with 80 posters. There were three awards for best poster and each recipient was presented with a Gold medal. Congratulations to J. Lyons, Anne Marie O’Flynn (Department of Epidemiology and Public Health) and Maeve Crowley/Caroline Noone (Haemotology, CUH).

In the afternoon the speakers were – Dr. Denis O’Mahony, (SENATOR); Dr. Gene Dempsey, (HIP); and Dr Patricia Kearney, (TRUST), all clinicians/academics leading large European grants. Dr. Anne Cody from the HRB gave a presentation on Research Funding for Clinicians.

The evening session included six brief presentations on active clinical research. Presenters were Ms Samantha Cushen, Dr Niamh O’Regan, Dr John Cahill, Mr Conor O’Shea, Professor Finbarr Allen and Dr Rónán O’Caoimh.

Thank you to Prof. Helen Whelton, Dr Ronan O’ Sullivan, Dr Pádraig Canitillon-Murphy, Professor Willie Molloy and Dr Liam Plant for chairing the sessions.

Coronavirus (COVID-19)

In light of the Covid-19 situation, in advance of attending for a scheduled patient visit, please confirm the visit with your research nurse.